Supper Club for Party of One People

Early on as a widow I often wished I had the nerve to approach a restaurant manager to ask if I could reserve a table on a weekly basis for walk-in singles. Not singles as in dating singles, but singles as in people who dine out alone. Time after time I chickened out and sat as a party of one in those restaurants.

THIRTEEN YEARS LATER . . . Even though my life has changed and I’m even remarried, I still have a burden for people who have fallen through the cracks between families and couples. I call them Party of One People. They are the people sitting alone in pews, eating alone in restaurants and participating in events by themselves. They are Christians and
non-Christians, all ages, married, single, divorced or widowed. What they all have in common is loneliness and a desire to fit in.

Party of One People Feel Invisible

MY MISSION. . .  Standing on His word that “God sets the lonely in families, he leads out the prisoners with singing . . .,” my passion is to introduce these people to each other and maybe to reconnect them with families and couples. If they don’t know the Lord, we’ll pray for an opportunity to introduce them to Him, too.

A SMALL START . . . I plan to start small with a weekly Party of One Supper Club (or
Lunch?). I’ve contacted some friends, some married, some not, and invited them to join me in the early planning stages. I plan to report on our progress weekly through my Mug Shots blog.

SOME SPECIFICS SO FAR . . .

  • The Party of Supper Club would have a similar philosophy as the Alpha program which allows people to “explore the meaning of life in a relaxed, friendly setting,” where “people enjoy great food, laughter and learning in a fun and friendly atmosphere.”
  • A strong base of Christians members who will attend on a regular basis and pray
  • A casual dining establishment, nothing too pricey, one that allows separate
    checks
  • Grow by inviting single diners already at the restaurant to join us

Here’s a link to some suggested Party of One Supper Club Guidelines on my website.

I know it’s a small start, but, as the Bible says, “Who dares despise the day of small things, since the seven eyes of the LORD that range throughout the earth will rejoice when they see the chosen capstone in the hand of Zerubbabel?” (Zec 4:10 NIV)

This entry was posted in Party of One Fellowship and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

