Party of One: A Fellowship for Those Tired of Dining Alone

I’ve been doing a lot of thinking and praying about the Party of One Supper Club. First of all—what to call it? I wanted a name that would reflect the vision the Lord gave me, which is to share a meal with singles and help them change their world. “Supper Club” just doesn’t cut it. It sounds shallow and mundane. (Besides, we may switch-up and have lunch
occasionally.)

The purpose of Party of One is to reach singles who have slipped through the cracks between couples and families. This may include some who are single by choice, single by circumstance, or “spiritually” single. It may also include those who have a spouse who often travels on business; and some, like me, who though happily married, have a heart to encourage singles. Some of us may be outgoing while some may feel paralyzed by loneliness or fear.

And some, though hard to believe, may not be interested at all and will ask me not to bug them again.

No matter. All of us have worth. All hurt at sometime or other. All can have fun. All have something to teach. All have something to learn. All laugh. All cry. All need to belong. All have passion. All can help others. All can make a difference. All can change their world. All are unique and handmade by God.

After much deliberation, I decided to abide by the KISS rule, so here’s the new name: Party of One.  [Duh.] Our tag line is: A Fellowship for Those Tried of Dining Alone.

I believe this whole concept is a brilliant idea. And since I’ve never been accused of being brilliant, I strongly suspect the Holy Spirit’s intervention.

Whether we have two people or twenty, our first meal with be held Friday evening, November 4th. I’ll let you know the exact time and location after you contact me.  In the meantime, if you think of anyone who may be interested, please send them the link to this post. [You might want to reassure them that I’m not totally crazy and that we will be meeting in a public place. :-)]

If you decide to join us, you will have fun! You will not be bored! You will be challenged! You will meet some strange and wonderful people!

If you want to sign-up for this wild* adventure call me at 603-578-1860 or email me at cjames@claricejames.com. Or send me a message via the Party of One Facebook page.

*Don’t be scared; I’m too old to be that wild.

This entry was posted in Party of One Fellowship and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment