Party of One: What a Brilliant Idea!

There were eight single diners and my husband David and me at the Party of One brunch at IHOP on Sunday. Listening to the ten of us  I was reminded of the Six Degrees of Separation Theory, which is simply based on the “it’s a small world” phenomenon. The more we talked the more we found we had in common, and the differences faded away.

  • “Your daughter lives in Plymouth? I grew up in Plymouth.”
  • “You come from Alabama? My husband comes from Alabama!”
  • “You’re from McLean, Virginia? I lived there for a while, too!”
  • “Your son lives in Wilmington? That’s where I’m spending Thanksgiving.”
  • “You love Indian food? I do, too.”
  • “You lived on the Cape? I lived on the Cape.”

Even though I trusted that God called me to begin the Party of One ministry, a communal table for single diners, I am not afraid or ashamed to ask for his confirmation. He has provided it in a number of ways. First, it’s been one of the simpler events I’ve organized. Second, now that it’s underway, I don’t feel like I’m dragging a dead horse around. I feel like I’m on Secretariat’s back! Third, this is what I’m hearing from the participants:

  • “Thank you so much for starting this!”
  • “When do we meet next?”
  • “I so appreciate the fact that you did this.”
  • “I know someone I want to invite.”
  • “This was a brilliant idea!”

I agree; it was a brilliant idea. And since I’ve never been accused of being brilliant, I suspect it was Holy Spirit inspired.

If you haven’t joined us yet, why don’t you come see for yourself?

Clarice and Susan D.

This entry was posted in Party of One Fellowship and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Party of One: What a Brilliant Idea!

  1. Congratulations on the success of your dream.

Leave a Reply

