Party of One: God Keeps It Simple

Scripture Verse: “Those who think they can do it on their own end up obsessed with measuring their own moral muscle but never get around to exercising it in real life. Those who trust God’s action in them find that God’s Spirit is in them—living and breathing God! ~ Romans 8:5-6 MSG

Quote: “I am not a genius, I am just curious. I ask many questions, and when the answer is simple, then God is answering.” ~ Albert Einstein, Scientist & Philosopher

An article by Features Reporter, Teresa Santoski about Party of One appeared in the September 27th Encore insert in the Nashua Telegraph. For days and days after it was published, my phone rang and my emailed bing-ed with inquiries about Party of One. In the past two weeks, our list of possible attendees has more than doubled and continues to grow by word-of-mouth.

Why am I still so surprised?

Here are a few of the thoughts that meandered through my mind a year ago when I first founded Party of One, A Fellowship for Those Tired of Dining Alone:

  • Maybe the concept behind this is too simple.
  • Maybe there’s only a smattering of people out there who feel the way I did about eating alone.
  • Maybe people will feel funny about joining a group of strangers.
  • Maybe they have more exciting options out there.
  • Maybe they’ll think I’m weird . . . or find out I am weird.

It was good to hear comments like these:

  • Thank you so much for doing this!
  • This is an answer to prayer.
  • You don’t know how much this means to me!
  • This is such a wonderful idea.
  • I know this is so much work for you, and I appreciate all you do.

But . . . last Saturday, as I looked out over the function room at Weathervane Seafood Restaurant and saw 27 people (including 10 regulars and 17 newcomers), eating, talking, and laughing together, I realized one important fact: It wasn’t me doing any of this; it was God. He’s the One who put the idea on my heart. He’s the One who brought people like Jerri Spearman, Noreen Strauch, Deb Bock, Mary Roberson, Susan Dextraze, Bob Berube, and Abby Byrd on board to help spread the word! He’s the One who drew singles to attend.

He’s the One who even convinced my husband that this could be fun!

And since God and His Holy Spirit are behind it all, He keeps me from turning His simple idea into my hard work. It’s been a joy and a privilege to fellowship with others “who are tired of dining alone.”  I can’t wait to see what God has in mind for us next!

This entry was posted in Party of One Fellowship and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Party of One: God Keeps It Simple

  1. Praise God Clarice! This is very exciting to hear how God is working in and through you for His purposes and glory. Your post encourages and inspires me to remain faithful with the little things, because at just the right time He pours out His blessings through us!

  2. It’s so wonderful to see how your efforts are multiplying. You found a need and filled it. God blessed. Terrific!

  3. We had people from 40 to 80-something–and every age in between. My hope is, over time, that they get to know each other better, find those with common interests, and create friendships that move beyond this twice monthly event.

Leave a Reply

