Party of One: Thankfulness

November 2013SCRIPTURE VERSE: And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him. ~ Col 3:17 (NIV)

QUOTE: Sometimes our light goes out but is blown into flame by another human being.  Each of us owes deepest thanks to those who have rekindled this light. ~ Albert Schweitzer

Two years ago I began Party of One, A Fellowship for Those Tired of Dining Alone. We’ve been meeting a couple of times a month since then.

Is coordinating these Party of One events work? Some say it is. Why doesn’t it feel like work to me? Maybe because any “work” I put into it comes back as a blessing–both for me and for those who attend.

Just recently, my husband and I hosted a Party of One gathering at our home. I wanted the November luncheon to have a Thanksgiving flavor and planned to go around the room and ask people to state one thing they were thankful for. In the flurry of food and fellowship, I forgot my plan.  I sent a quick email the next day offering this:

I’m thankful for all you Party of One-ers who graced our home with your presence on Saturday. I’m also thankful for those who have joined us this past year. I enjoy you all! ~ Clarice

In return, I got these responses:

I am thankful to be alive and I never want to forget the cancer patients who are having a rough go of it.  During my time at the radiation center another cancer patient made sea shell angels and she gave them away to the other patients.  I have this sea shell angel on my dresser and I look at it every day because  I never want to forget how fortunate I am. ~ Sandy

I am thankful for you, Clarice and Jerri. Without u there may be no group as this one. I am grateful 2 God 4 life also. ~ Karen S.

The one thing I am most thankful for is a loving God who is always present to me. . . and present in many ways, through many people.  You are one of the ways God is present in my life.  See you in the New Year.   Wishing you a wonderful Thanksgiving. ~ Karen L.

Thank you Clarice. It was nice to see you all, keep in touch.
By the way, I am thankful for all the nice groups, and my church, my family that give meaning and love to my life~ Jo

One woman even took the time to write a lovely letter:

The  dining event held in your home was delightful and many thanks for being such a gracious hostess . . .  The Party of One is becoming a staple for many of us single diners and I feel blessed to be part of the gathering. It is a unique opportunity to meet interesting people from all walks of life.

Indeed at this time of the year, I am reminded to ponder and appreciate the quality of friendships gained this past year. I am grateful for the opportunity to be in the presence of a kind facilitator as you who fosters a sincere interest in keeping the spirit of kinship alive via these dinning around events.

Once again, I sincerely appreciate and enjoy myself tremendously.  In every gathering event. ~ Yvette

November 2013I’d like to add a few more Party of One things I’m grateful for:

  1. My husband David. How many husbands would consent to their wives starting a group for singles? In two years time, he’s only missed one event!
  2. My sister-in-love Jerri Spearman who has a heart for lonely people and the boldness to invite them.
  3. Good food I don’t have to cook!
  4. New friends! When I moved to NH seven years ago, I only knew one person.
  5. The faithful attendees who are willing to drive making it possible for others to come.
  6. Getting to know my way around my new state.
  7. The smiling servers at all the restaurants who put up with our tardiness, yakking, and separate checks.
  8. Stories, characters and laughter.
  9. The privilege to pray for Party of One-ers and their families.
  10. Finally, I am grateful to the Lord, who led me (then nudged me) into this wonderful adventure!

Happy Thanksgiving!

This entry was posted in Party of One Fellowship and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Party of One: Thankfulness

  1. Clarice, these are great things to be thankful for! Thank you for sharing this and out of that encouraging so many! 1 Thessalonians 1:1-10

  2. What a blessing you are to your diners! And by the responses quite appreciated. Nice.

Leave a Reply

